Poems

Circle of life

That Saturday morning in winter
I saw someone new yet familiar
She had my face, my eyes, my lips
No, I was not looking through a mirror

With tears in my eyes
I looked at her again
I had her 30 years ago too
That was a winter of December not Jan

This angel is my daughter’s daughter
A little more special than her
Then I was a mommy
Now I have become a grandmother

She has my eyes
Minus spects
Minus regrets
So full of innocence
May they twinkle whatever happens

She has my face too
Minus wrinkles
Minus responsibilities
So full of life
May it be as peaceful even at 85

I might have complained a lot, Oh God!
Whenever things were not fine
Now, I am so thankful
May she have a life as fulfilling as mine

3 thoughts on “Circle of life

    1. Thank you Luisa
      This poem is actually close to my heart and it inspired me to write again after my daughter’s birth.
      She looks a lot like my mother😊

      Like

Leave a comment